Balance (Capitol Quartet)

Balance (Capitol Quartet)


This new release showcases commissioned works by Carter Pann, John Anthony Lennon and Stacy Garrop and the significant work for saxophone by Alfred Desenclos.

Add To Cart

THE MECHANICS: Six from the Shop Floor (2013)
Carter Pann (b. 1972)
1. Hoist                1:36
2. Drive Train            2:12
3. Belt                4:04
4. Flywheel            1:24
5. Balance            5:00
6. Trash            2:08

7. ELYSIAN BRIDGES (2012)    9:44
John Anthony Lennon (b. 1950)

Stacy Garrop (b. 1969)
8. Icarus Ascending        7:25
9. Daedalus Mourns        5:30

QUATOUR (1963)
Alfred Desenclos (1912-1971)
10. Allegro non troppo        5:21
11. Calmo            5:45
12. Poco largo; Allegro energico 5:46

Capitol Quartet is widely considered among the most exciting chamber ensembles performing today. Comprised of concert saxophonists who are teaching faculty at outstanding music schools throughout the United States, the Capitol Quartet has captured the imaginations of critics and audiences alike. Combining innovative repertoire with virtuosic playing and an energetic engaging stage presence, the Quartet brings a unique brand of entertainment to the concert and recital stage.

Quartet members Christopher Creviston, Joseph Lulloff, David Stambler and Andrew Dahlke are committed to expanding the repertoire of the saxophone quartet as well as present innovative programs featuring arrangement with orchestra, transcriptions of classical and jazz favorites and contemporary works for saxophone.