Spectral Trio (Richard Sherman, Jan Eberle & Kimberly Schmidt)

Spectral Trio (Richard Sherman, Jan Eberle & Kimberly Schmidt)


This recording is dedicated to the memory of Kimberly Schmidt (1950-2007) who tragically passed away few months before the project was compelte.

The CD includes works by Madeleine Dring, William Grant Still and Jean Michel Damase. It was recorded in the beautiful Lenna Hall in Chautauqua, NY.

Add To Cart

Madeleine Dring Trio for Flute, Oboe and Piano
01 I Allegro con brio 2:54
02 II Andante semplice 4:43
03 III Allegro giocoso 2:36

04 William Grant Still Incantation and Dance for Oboe and Piano 5:14

05 Madeleine Dring Danza Gaya for Oboe and Piano 2:36

William Grant Still Miniatures for Flute, Oboe and Piano
06 1. I Ride an Old Paint (U.S.A.) 3:42
07 2. Adolorido (Mexico) 1:52
08 3. Jesus is a Rock in the Weary Land (U.S.A.) 2:26
09 4. Yaravi (Peru) 1:53
10 5. A Frog Went A-Courtin’ (U.S.A.) 1:34

Jean-Michel Damase Quatre Divertissements pour flute et piano
11 I. Allegretto 1:34
12 II. Allegro deciso 1:45
13 III. Andante 2:19
14 IV. Allegro 1:46

Jean-Michel Damase Trio pour flute, hautbois et piano
15 I. Molto moderato 6:00
16 II. Allegro con spirito 3:52
17 III. Allegro scherzando 4:44
18 IV. Moderato 5:16


These expert performers, billed as the Spectral Trio from which the disc takes its title, blend beautifully and have the full measure of every piece. The recorded sound is clean, fresh, and always exceptionally well balanced. - Fanfare Magazine

...elegantly performed, with real relish and commitment, by flautist Richard Sherman, oboist Jan Eberle and the late Kimberly Schmidt on piano. - International Record Review

In every piece, one hears a refinement of style in each of the instruments, and each of their styles blends with the others. No one musician plays his or her line above the others where it is merely subordinate, and no one line ever seems to be covered up or lost in the texture. In their interpretation of the music they seem to have clearly picked up on the occasional influence of other composers, such as Francaix, Poulenc, or Stravinsky. More important, they pick up on the essence of the pieces. And in their performances they have brought out all the right elements so that the music might sound as natural as possible. This is a great recording, and I recommend it to all chamber music enthusiasts. - American Record Guide

Both performances and sonics are exemplary.- Audiophile Audition