TROUVAILLE! (Hannah Holman & Réne Lecuona)

TROUVAILLE! (Hannah Holman & Réne Lecuona)


Cellist, Hannah Holman and pianist, Réne Lecuona present a new recording of sonatas from the turn of the 20th Century. Resplendent chamber music from Léon Boëllmann (1862-1897), Ernst von Dohnányi (1877-1960), and Frank Bridge (1879-1941), which is aptly performed by Ms. Holman and Ms. Lecuona.  The three sonatas, which are not widely recorded, are expressive and emotional; dramatic and challenging; tender and triumphant.

The title, Trouvaille, means “a lucky find”, which is exactly what this program puts forth.

Add To Cart

Léon Boëllmann (1862-1897) 
Sonata in A minor for Piano and Violoncello, op. 40
1. I.Maestoso - Allegro con fuoco
2. II. Andante
3. III. Allegro molto

Ernst von Dohnányi (1877-1960) 
Sonata in Bb major for Cello and Piano, op. 8
4. I. Allegro ma non troppo
5. II. Scherzo: Vivace assai
6. III. Adagio non troppo
7. IV. Tema con Variazioni: Allegro moderato – Adagio non troppo – Tempo I – Più allegro

Frank Bridge (1879-1941) 
Sonata in D minor for Violoncello and Piano
8. I. Allegro ben moderato
9. II. Adagio ma non troppo - Molto allegro e agitato